

# Mason County Promise Zone Authority Board Meeting Minutes

Monday, December 9, 2024: 3-5 p.m.

Location: Lakeshore Resource Network Conference Room, E. Tinkham, Ludington, MI

**Members Present:** Mike Haveman, Monica Jewell, Fabian Knizacky, Amy Pepper, Annette Quillan, Kathy Surd, Joan Vidak, Roger Nash, Chad Riffle, Michael Masters (arrived at 3:02)

Members Absent: Vic Burwell

Staff Present: Jody Maloney & Myndi Dangler

- **1. Call to Order:** *Jewell called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.*
- 2. Limited Public Comment: None
- 3. Approval of the Agenda
  - a. Motion to approve the agenda by Knizacky with support from Nash; Motion carried 9-0-2.
- 4. Approval of Minutes from 11-11-2024
  - a. Motion by Haveman to approve the minutes, supported by Nash; Motion carried 10-0-1 (arrival of Masters)
- **5. Treasurer's Report:** Knizacky shared an overview of the Balance Report for the purpose of approval.
  - a. Balance Report for November 2024: \$3,480,334.15; this balance includes all invoices to be approved.
  - b. West Shore Community College Fall 2024 Invoice: \$202,495.07.
  - C. Approval of Treasurer's Report & Invoices
    - i. Motion by Haveman to approve Treasurer's Report and invoice, with support from Riffle; Motion carried 10-0-1.
- 6. Director's Report: Maloney was excited to share that there are 105 first-year students from class of 2024 entering WSCC as Promise scholars despite the national decline of 18-year-olds going into college; 2024 is the biggest first-year class. Maloney highlighted the month's outreach, meetings and professional development she attended. Maloney provided an update of the Post-Secondary Advisor 1-on-1s with students.
  - a. Approval of the Director's Report: Motion by Knizacky to approve Director's Report, supported by Vidak; Motion carried 10-0-1.

# 7. New Business

- a. Committee Reports: <a href="https://www.masoncountypromise.org/minutes">https://www.masoncountypromise.org/minutes</a>
  - i. Appeals Committee: Met on 12-2-24 at 11am; Next Meeting: 1-27-25 @ 11AM
    - 1. Recommended to approve Appeal #93
    - 2. Recommended to approve Appeal #94, the agenda reflects Appeal #4 but should reflect Appeal #94.
      - a. Motion by Riffle to approve Approve Appeal #93 and Appeal #94, supported by Vidak; Motion carried 10-0-1.
    - 3. The Committee Charter was also reviewed with no changes recommended.

- 4. On January 27th, Chris Barry, Dean of West Shore Community College was invited to share about Academic Interventions.
- ii. Student Success Committee: Met: 11-25-24@10AM; Special Meeting: 12-16-24@1PM; Next Regular Scheduled Meeting 1-27-25@10 11AM.
  - Vidak shared that the committee reviewed priorities, data related to student trajectories, potential cost for transfer, and direct scholarships for other institutions was discussed. As the committee worked through initial questions, additional questions arose.
    - a. A Special Meeting has been scheduled for 12-16-24@1PM to continue exploring information.
- iii. Community Engagement Committee: Did Not Meet; Next Meeting: 2-5-25 @ 10AM
  - 1. Jewell encouraged the Board to vote in the United Way Festival of Trees December 7-14 at STIX.
- iv. Executive Committee: Did not Meet; Next Meeting: TBD
- b. Election of Officers
  - i. Jewell led the 2025 officer election process.
    - 1. Chair: Jewell opened the floor for nominations:
      - a. Jewell called for Chair nominations: Quillan nominated Annette Quillan for Chair
      - b. Jewell called for Chair nominations: Haveman nominated Jewell for Chair
      - c. Jewell called for Chair nominations: No additional nominations made.
        - A motion to close and accept the nominations of Monica Jewell and Annette Quillan was made by Knizacky, supported by Nash; Motion carried 9-0-1-1; Jewell abstained from voting
      - d. Roll call vote: Haveman for Jewell, Nash for Jewell, Vidak for Jewell, Riffle for Jewell, Surd for Jewell, Knizacky for Jewell, Pepper for Quillan, Quillan for Quillan, Masters for Jewell; Jewell abstained from voting
        - i. With a roll call vote of 7 to 2, Haveman motioned to approve Monica Jewell as Chair was made by Haveman, supported by Knizacky; Motion carried 9-0-1-1; Jewell abstained from voting

# 2. Vice Chair:

- a. Jewell called for Vice Chair nominations: Nash nominated Joan Vidak for Vice Chair
- b. Jewell made two additional calls for nominations for Vice Chair: No additional nominations were made.
- c. Motion by Knizacky to close and accept nominations and unanimously approve Joan Vidak for Vice Chair, supported by Nash; Motion carried 9-0-1-1; Vidak abstained from voting.

### 3. Treasurer

a. Jewell called for Treasurer nominations: Nash nominated Fabian Knizacky for Treasurer.

- b. Jewell made two additional calls for nominations for Treasurer: No additional nominations were made.
- c. Riffle motioned to close and accept nominations, and to unanimously approve Fabian Knizacky as Treasurer, supported by Surd; Motion carried 9-0-1-1; Knizacky abstained from voting.

# 4. Secretary

- a. Jewell called for Secretary nominations: Nash nominated Kathy Surd for Secretary.
- b. Jewell made two additional calls for nominations for Secretary: No additional nominations were made.
- c. Knizacky made a motion to close and accept nominations, and to unanimously approve Kathy Surd as Secretary, supported by Masters; Motion carried 9-0-1-1; Surd abstained from voting.

#### c. Committee Selection

- i. The following are Committee Chair Appointments based on members who have expressed specific interest submitted by CEC.
  - 1. Fabian Knizacky for Appeals
  - 2. Monica Jewell for Community Engagement
  - 3. Joan Vidak for Student Services
  - 4. Executive Committee--The Board Chair, who is Monica Jewell, serves in this role.
    - a. A motion to approve the Committee Chair Appointments was made by Haveman with support from Nash; Motion carried 10-0-1.

# d. Committee Service for 2025

- i. The following are members who currently serve on committee boards and unless a change of service commitment needs to be done, these members will continue to do so for 2025; If changes need to be made, please let the respective committee or board chair know.
  - 1. Appeals: Fabian Knizacky, Roger Nash, Amy Pepper, Annette Quillian
  - 2. Community Engagement: Voc Burwell, Mike Haveman, Monica Jewell, Annette Quillian
  - 3. Student Success: Monica Jewell, Michael Masters, Amy Pepper, Annette Quillian, Chad Riffle, Kathy Surd, Joan Vidak
    - a. A motion to approve the 2025 Committee Service seats was made by Knizacky with support from Haveman; Discussion: Quillan inquired how FOIA will work with Knizacky's retirement, to which Knizacky indicated he will still be able to proccess a FOIA request; Motion carried 10-0-1.

# e. FOIA & MMRMA Appointments

- i. The Renewal of Appointments for Fabian Knizacky as the FOIA Coordinator and Jody Maloney as the MMRMA Representative was presented.
  - A motion to approve the Renewal of Appointments for Fabian Knizacky as the FOIA Coordinator and Jody Maloney as the MMRMA Representative was made by Riffle with support from Nash; Motion carried 10-0-1.

# 8. Any Other Business

- 1. Jewell shared with the Board that beginning in January, the new time slot for Board Meetings will be 3:30 5PM. She also noted that if there are no pressing matters and the agenda does not support a meeting there may be a potential to cancel that month's meeting altogether.
- 9. Limited Public Comment: None
- **10. Adjourn:** *Jewell moved for adjournment at 3:45 PM*

Respectfully submitted by Myndi Dangler, Recording Secretary, 12-9-2024
Myndi Dangler
Myndi Dangler